Detailed SSC CGL Syllabus for Tier-l, Tier-ll and Tier-lll Exams

Sharing is Caring!

The exam schedule of the Common Graduate Level examination has been released by the Staff Selection Commission to fill the various Group-B and Group-C posts for the government department and ministries.

SSC CGL Syllabus Exam Pattern

SSC CGL 2019 will be conducted in March 2020 and candidates who are waiting for the CGL Exam are advised to focus on the understanding of the SSC CGL Syllabus 2019-20.

SSC CGL exams are conducted in four stages, and the candidates who qualify all the stages will be appointed as Central Government employees. So in this article, we will provide you with SSC CGL Syllabus for all stages of the exam – Tier I, Tier II and Tier III. Continue reading on to find out everything about SSC CGL Syllabus.

Detailed Syllabus For SSC CGL Syllabus 

Before moving into the details of SSC CGL Syllabus 2020, let’s have an overview of the scheme of the SSC CGL Examination through which candidates are selected under SSC CGL Recruitment:

  • SSC CGL Tier-I Exam: Computer Based Examination 

  • SSC CGL Tier-II Exam: Computer Based Examination

  • SSC CGL Tier-III Exam: Pen and Paper Mode (Descriptive paper)

Also Read: SSC CGL Exam Eligibility Details

SSC CGL Syllabus for Tier – I

SSC CGL Tier-I is mandatory for all posts and the marks are added for the further process as well. The syllabus of SSC CGL Tier – I in detail.

SSC CGL Syllabus for General Intelligence and Reasoning




     SSC CGL Tier – I


  • This subject has questions of both verbal and non-verbal types. 

  • It includes topics such as Symbolic/Number Analogy, Semantic Analogy, Figural Analogy, Figural Classification, Symbolic Number Analogy, Semantic Series, Figure Series, Number Series, Word Building, Problem Solving, Coding and Decoding, Symbolic Operations, Numerical Operations, Space Orientation, Space Visualization, Trends, Venn Diagrams, Drawing Inferences, Punch hole/Pattern Folding and Unfolding, Indexing, Figural Pattern – folding and completion, Address Matching, Date and city matching, Small and Capital letters/numbers coding, decoding and classification, Critical Thinking, Emotional Intelligence, Embedded Figures and Social Intelligence.

  • This may include questions on space visualization, similar and differences analogies, spatial orientation, decision making, analysis, judgment, arithmetical reasoning and figural classification, arithmetic number series, coding and decoding, syllogistic reasoning, statement conclusion, etc.

SSC CGL Syllabus for General Awareness

       SSC CGL Tier – I


  • This section tests the candidate’s general awareness regarding the environment around and its application to the society


  • The candidates are tested on the knowledge of current events and matters of everyday observations.

  • It also includes questions relating to India and its neighbor countries with more focus on culture, economic scene, geography, history, general policy, and scientific research. 

SSC CGL Syllabus for Quantitative Aptitude


      SSC CGL Tier – I


  • The scope of the test will be aimed at the computation of decimals, whole numbers, relationships between numbers, fractions, percentage, ratio and proportion, averages, square roots, interest, partnership businesses, profit and loss, discount, mixture and allegation, time and work, time and distance, basic algebraic identities of school algebra, triangles and its various kinds of centers, graph of linear equations, congruence and similarity of triangles, circle and its chords, tangents, common tangents to two or more circles, angles subtended by chords of circle, quadrilaterals, triangles, regular polygons, right prism, circle, right circular cones, sphere, right circular cylinder, hemispheres, regular right pyramid with triangular or square base, rectangular parallelepiped, trigonometric ratio, standard identities, degree and radian measures, complementary angles, histogram, heights and distances, bar diagram, frequency polygon, and pie charts.

SSC CGL Syllabus for English Comprehension

      SSC CGL Tier – I



  • English comprehension tests the ability of the candidate to understand correct English and also the candidate’s basic ability to write and comprehend the language

SSC CGL Syllabus for Tier – II

In SSC CGL Tier -II, two papers will be conducted on the same day where Paper-I is Quantitative Aptitude and Paper – II is English. Paper – III and Paper IV is conducted respectively for the post of JSO and AAO. The syllabus for SSC CGL Tier -II is given below:

SSC CGL Syllabus for Quantitive Ability

     SSC CGL Tier-II


  • The syllabus for quantitative abilities remains the same as that of Quantitive Aptitude of the Tier – I of SSC CGL Syllabus. 

SSC CGL Syllabus for English Language and Comprehension

      SSC CGL Tier-II


  • The syllabus for English Language and Comprehension remains the same as the English Comprehension of the Tier – I of the SSC CGL Syllabus. 

SSC CGL Syllabus for Statistics


      SSC CGL Tier-II


  • Classification, Collection, and Presentation of Statistical

  • Measures of Dispersion

  • Measures of Central Tendency

  • Moments, Skewness and Kurtosis

  • Probability Theory

  • Correlation and Regression

  • Random Variable and Probability Distribution 

  • Statistical Inference

  • Sampling Theory

  • Time Series Analysis

  • Analysis of Variance

  • Index Numbers

Also Read: Top 5 Data Visualization Tools

SSC CGL Syllabus for General Studies (Finance and Economics)


      SSC CGL Tier-II


Part – A: Finance and Accounts (80 marks)

Fundamental principles and basic concept of Accounting

  • Financial Accounting

  • Basic Concepts of Accounting

Part – B: Economics and Governance (120 marks)

Finance Commission-Role and functions

  • Theory of Demand and Supply

  • Basic Concepts of Economics and Introduction to Micro Economics

  • Theory of Production and Cost

  • Indian Economy

  • Forms of market and determination of pricing in different markets 

  • Economic reforms of India

  • Role of Information Technology in Governance

  • Money and Banking

SSC CGL Syllabus for Tier – III

The SCC CGL Tier – III is descriptive to test the written skills of candidates in English and Hindi. The examination mode is offline in pen and paper mode. The time allotted is 60 minutes, and the exam carries 100 marks. For the candidates of the PWD categories, the time is increased to 80 minutes.

       Mode of Examination

  Scheme of Examination

        Maximum Marks


      Pen and Paper Mode

Descriptive Paper in Hindi or English to Write Essays,  Precis, Letter, Application, etc.


The next step for the candidate after going through the above-mentioned syllabus is to create a study plan and start working on it. It is advisable to start solving previous year question papers and analyze the weak and strong points and put more emphasis on the weaker points. Achieving accuracy and high scores in the exam is attainable only through regular practice.

Sharing is Caring!

Leave a Comment